Designated Area Migration Agreements (DAMA) - Bansal Immigration

Designated Area Migration Agreements (DAMA)

A Designated Area Migration Agreement (DAMA) is a formal agreement between the Australian Government and a regional, state or territory authority.

They are:

  • generally in effect for five years and
  • use the Temporary Skills Shortage (TSS) and Employer Nominated Scheme (ENS) visa programs.

The DAMA visas may allow the only opportunity for applicants who are too old to apply for PR through standard visa pathways

As compared to standard skilled migration program it provides access to more overseas workers.

It functions under an agreement-based framework, providing flexibility for regions to respond to their unique economic and labor market conditions.

It has a two-tier framework covering a defined regional area.

The first tier is an overarching five-year deed of agreement (head agreement) with the region’s representative.

The second tier comprises individual labour agreements with employers under the settings of the head agreement for that region.


  • must seek and gain endorsement from the Designated Area Representative before lodging a labour agreement request.
  • Employers in designated areas experiencing skills and labour shortages can sponsor skilled and semi-skilled overseas workers.
  • As a first priority. DAMAs ensure employers recruit Australian citizens and permanent residents.
  • Among other things, employers must demonstrate a genuine attempt to recruit Australians prior to getting access to a DAMA.


  • do not have direct access to DAMA. They need to be sponsored:
  • by an employer operating in a designated region
  • for an occupation that is specified in the head agreement.

Why Choose DAMA?

  1. It may allow you to Permanent Residency in the future.
  2. Additional jobs are allowed to be sponsored on it.
  3. Applicants can apply for this visa in a designated regional area.
  4. This visa requires lower entry requirements (lower English level, lower salary offered, or even receive age concessions)