General Skilled Migration (GSM) Visa Australia | Bansal Immigration

General Skilled Migration


The General Skilled Migration (GSM) visa is for foreign nationals. Individuals who have a visa awarded under the GSM program can work in Australia on a permanent basis, or in some circumstances, on a temporary basis until the requirements for permanent residency are met. This visa application doesn’t need an applicant to be sponsored by an employer.

These general skilled visas are divided into following classes and subclasses:

  • Independent general skilled migration (subclass 189)
  • State sponsored skilled migration (subclass 190)
  • Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489)
  • Temporary Graduate visa or post study work visa (subclass 485)
  • Recognised graduate visa (subclass 476)

Minimum Requirements

  1. Applicants must have an occupation listed on one of the following Australian Government occupation lists:
  1. Applicant must have suitable skills assessment for their nominated occupation
  2. Applicant must be under 50 years of age
  3. Applicant must have at least competent English.
  4. Applicants must, also, satisfy a point test as part of the visa application requirements.

The points test is used to help Australia select people who have the skills and attributes it needs.

The number of points you need to pass the points test depends on the visa you apply for. You can be given points for a number of reasons, including your:

  • Age
  • English language ability
  • Skilled Employment
  • Qualifications
  • Australian Study Requirements
  • Specialist Education Qualification
  • Other Factors