What is Australian Qualifications Framework? | Bansal Immigration - Your Future, Our Priority

The Australian Qualifications Framework shortly known as AQF to most people incorporates the various qualifications and education levels under one single comprehensive national qualifications framework. Introduced in 1995, this framework is made to see that the qualifications remain nationally consistent and relevant.  

What are AQF levels?

The Australian Qualification Framework is divided into 10 levels citing various stages of education. Starting from Certificate I which is the minimum level in the Australian degree qualifications, the AQF levels are moved up to Doctorate level, which being the highset qualification. The below are the various qualifications under different AQF level

  • Level 1: Certificate I
  • Level 2: Certificate II
  • Level 3: Certificate III
  • Level 4: Certificate IV
  • Level 5: Diploma
  • Level 6: Advanced Diploma and associated degree
  • Level 7: Bachelor’s degree
  • Level 8: Bachelor Honours Degree, Graduate Certificate, Graduate Diploma
  • Level 9: Master’s Degree
  • Level 10: Doctoral Degree

How can Australian Qualification Framework help?

This framework clearly depicts each level of education categorising under summary, purpose, knowledge, skills, Application of knowledge and skills, Volume of learning. This helps an individual understand what one can learn at each stage.

AQF level and Student visa?

Most of the international students are not aware of Australian Qualification framework and its levels when they first enrol in a course. It is very important for a student to maintain the level of study once the student visa (subclass 500) is granted and they enter in Australia. It is the student visa obligation according to student visa condition 8202 which clearly states that student maintain enrolment in a registered course that is the same Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) level or higher for which we granted your student visa, unless changing from AQF level 10 to level 9.

Example 1: If a person is studying diploma level courses and enrol in Bachelors level course in his visa tenure, he is not breaching the visa condition 8202 as he/she is enrolling in a course level which is higher than the student visa granted for.

Example 2: If a person was granted his/her visa at Bachelor level and he wishes to pursue Diploma level course during the visa tenure, he is clearly breaching his visa condition and the student visa might get cancelled.